Before you integrate Google Analytics into Clickx, managing user permissions in your Google Analytics account would be the initial step to setting up your Google Analytics account. This section will show you how to add a user in Google Analytics.



To add a new user to your Google Analytics account, first login into your Google Analytics account. Go to the “Admin Tab” and then click on “User Management” in either the “Account”, “Property”, or “View” columns shown.

Google%20Analytics%20Admin%20Tab.png

My%20Account%20-%20Google%20Analytics%20columns.png



Once you're in “User Management” for one of the three columns, enter your email address in the “Add permissions for” field. Next, choose the permissions you want for the user. The four permissions to apply to a user account are, manage users, edit, collaborate, or read and analyze permission. You can add more than one permission to an account.

Add%20permissions%20for%20field%20screenshot.png

It is important to note that if a Google Analytics user has permissions at the account level, for an example, then that user will have the same permissions for all the properties in that account. Or if a Google Analytics user has permissions at the view level, for an example, then that user will have the same permissions for all the properties in that account.


The Four Permission to Apply

1) The “Manage users” permission can manage account users and add, delete, or assign permissions. 


2) The “Edit” permission allows a user to have admin capabilities such as add, edit, or delete accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, view report data, etc. but they cannot manage users. To create filters, for an example, the edit permission has to have account access. Or to apply filters, for an example, the edit permission has to have view access. The collaborate permission is included in the edit permission.


3) The “Collaborate” permission can create and share personal assets. For an example, a shared asset could be editing the dashboard. The read and analyze permission is included in the collaborate permission.


4) The “Read & Analyze” permission can view report and configuration data, edit report data, and can create, share, and view personal assets. Note that you cannot collaborate on shared assets.


After you select the permissions for a user, select the “Notify this user by email” button to send an email notification to the user you’re adding. Lastly, click on the “Add” button to add a new user to your Google Analytics account. For more information about Google Analytics user permissions and how to assign permissions to a user, visit https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/2884495.